33rd Annual Parish Porch Sale.

It’s that time of year again, the Porch Sale.  I put up some posters near my house.  In previous years some evil genius has taken them down before the sale happens.  I placed the ones I put up so that no one has to take them down because “they are in the way”.  I am curious to see how long they stay up.  I have seen signs and posters stay up well past the dates mentioned, yet Porch Sale posters are removed before the event.  I don’t get it.

One thing is for sure, you can always tell the level of popular technology by what is donated to the Porch Sale.  When CD’s became popular we started to see vinyl records.  When DVD’s came out we saw VHS tapes come rolling in.  There have always been books.  What will show up this year?

*****

On Friday June 10th volunteers helped organize the tables and spread out the donated items.  It was quite warm and pretty much we all sweated through our clothing.  There are alot of nice things this year.

*****

It has been decided that this will be the last Parish Porch Sale. The storage used during the year to hold items is no longer available. Thirty-three years is a good run for most volunteer efforts. There were folks that I only saw at the sale. I won’t be able to figure out what stuff is any longer.  For years I would call the Parish Porch Sale my “job away from job”.  For the past four years it has been my job while I look for work, now I don’t even have that.
I guess I’ll have to find another outlet for my bottomless font of useless knowledge. 😦

The sale will be replaced by a regular flea market with a deSales table and other tables sold to dealers, but it won’t be the same.

About Frankjc3rd

Active hobbyist on Wheresgeorge.com, presently looking for work.
This entry was posted in deSales, Neighborhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

